Fogarty Futures Leadership Conference

October 14, 2021

The UWA Fogarty Scholars hosted the 2021 Fogarty Futures Leadership Conference earlier this month. Forty-five impressive and motivated young West Australian’s were invited to join the Scholars for a four-day conference at the Bickley Outdoor Recreation Camp, where they were inspired to explore leadership and entrepreneurial opportunities in their schools and local communities.  

Participants took part in a variety of workshops including Purposeful with Liz Knight, Interview Skills with Connor McLaughlin, Dr Yes and Man Up. Conference facilitators (UWA Fogarty Scholars and Alumni) mentored the group as they spoke about the importance of having cultural awareness in leadership; acted as member states of the United Nations, using problem solving, diplomacy and communication skills to respond to an international crisis; and spoke with current Scholars about leadership, university and raising their educational aspirations.

At the Politicians Panel, three levels of government were represented by an impressive line-up of guest speakers. Georgie Carey – Town of Mosman Park Councillor, Shane Love MLA, David Scaife MLA, Senator Dean Smith, Dr Katrina Stratton MLA and Rhys Williams – Mandurah Mayor, spoke to the group about various societal challenges, being a leader in the community and how they, even as young students, can have a positive and wide-reaching impact.  

“Our UWA Fogarty Scholars are an outstanding group of young people and the Fogarty Futures Conference highlights how exceptional they are –, organising speakers and workshop leads running a four-day conference,  when they have only just started university themselves.”

Annie Fogarty AM, Executive Chairperson of the Fogarty Foundation.

“The Scholars have highlighted that when provided the opportunity, their strong leadership qualities truly shine, empowering them to make a difference to the lives of others.  This really is the ripple effect in action” she said.

The Fogarty Futures Leadership Conference was initiated by the Fogarty Scholars’ Association in 2013 and has been convened by first year Fogarty Scholars every year since. 

You can find out more about Fogarty Foundation and the UWA Fogarty Scholars by visiting

Share this article