Fogarty Futures Leadership Conference

November 29, 2022

Congratulations to the amazing group of first-year Scholars who facilitated the 2022 Fogarty Futures Leadership Conference in October.

Forty-eight impressive and motivated young West Australian’s (20% from regional areas) were invited to join the Scholars for a four-day conference at the Ern Halliday Recreation Camp, where they were inspired to explore leadership and entrepreneurial opportunities. 

Congratulations to the 2022 organising committee led by Co-Convenors Shantelle Jeyakumar and Naveen Nimalan, alongside Caleb Adams (Funding Officer), Phoebe Dyson (Marketing Officer), and Daniel Zhou (Logistics Officer).

The conference program focused around four key themes:

Guest speakers included Kate Chaney MP, Senator Jordon Steele-John, Anish Badgeri and Richard Mavros. Various workshops were run by Scholars including Luke Osborne, Joel Peiris and Lachlan McDonald, and external groups including United Nations Youth, 180 Degrees Consulting and Venture – UWA Student Innovation Centre. Other activities included the social impact fair, mentor group discussions, morning walks and campfire night.

With sponsorship from Hawaiian, Wesfarmers, Boston Consulting Group, UWA and the Fogarty Foundation, the Fogarty Futures team offered low attendance fees and travel scholarships to participants.

The Fogarty Futures Leadership Conference was initiated by the Fogarty Scholars’ Association in 2013. Found out more at

Share this article